Program Details

Tennessee Williams

Taylor Hagood

Course Description

Few writers have exhibited as much talent for depicting the taut compressions of emotion as Tennessee Williams. As the dominant playwright of mid-20th century America, Williams created unforgettable characters who displayed and articulated the deepest struggles of life. This series explores the life of Williams and a selection of his finest plays via lectures filled with images, sounds, and videos of Williams in both stage and film performances. This series will be a journey through the imagination of one of America's greatest playwrights.


  1. Williams' Life: A lively account of William's biography.
  2. The Glass Menagerie.
  3. A Streetcar Named Desire.
  4. Summer and Smoke.
  5. The Rose Tattoo.
  6. Cat on a Hot Tin Roof.
  7. Orpheus Descending.
  8. The Night of the Iguana.

About the Instructor

  • Taylor Hagood, PhD, is a professor of American literature at Florida Atlantic University. He has published several books, including Faulkner; Writer of Disability (winner of the 2014 C. Hugh Holman Award for Best Book in Southern Studies), has lectured in venues throughout North America and Europe and was a Fulbright Professor at the University of Munich (2009-2010).

     Lifelong Learning Professorship of Arts and Letters, 2014-2015

Upcoming programs presented by Taylor Hagood.

TypeNumberInstructorCourse TitleAdd to Cart